Reviews

7.9
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.8
Comfort
7.6
Property location
8.5
Facilities
7.4
Staff
8.3
Value
8.0

Reviews

    jiri burakowski
    cz

    Review score

    10
    23 September 2018

    Green really sign nature

    NA
    Cottage Is situated in the forest what we enjoyed, as in the evening we saw pigs going to sleep, during day another animals. Also it was out of the crowded city and we had silent to relax and enjoy sounds of nature
    Kathryn
    au

    Review score

    3.8
    18 September 2018

    Very Disappointing

    For our 3 night stay we were given a cottage closest to the road which looked at the cottage in front and was beside a site cleared for building. The water supply was problematic from the start. Couldn’t get hot to work first day, second and third days taps and toilet dried up completely and the manager had to suck on the tap to get it working and take filthy brown water into his mouth. The sound of him dry-retching muddy water onto our bathroom floor will stay with me long after we leave Ella. Eventually the water stopped being brown and sludgy. We were allowed once to use the bathroom in another cottage which was renovated but he wouldn’t let us move in as he said it was booked. No one arrived. Our bathroom was covered in mould and smelled bad. Towels were threadbare. There were no sheets on the foam mattress, only an ill-fitting tablecloth, and only one power point so if we wanted to plug in the upright fan we couldn’t charge our phones. No A/C no TV. Dark room. Only the manager to do everything - cook, clean, wash blankets, maintenance, billing etc and he spoke little English. No information about walks, transport etc. There was no reception so to find the manager we had to knock on his little hut or just shout out ‘hello’ whilst wandering around the cottages looking for him. The balcony to our cottage could have been nice but the mozzies were prolific and chairs uncomfortable. Breakfast was included but was virtually inedible except for the fruit. For AUD$55 per night it was not worth it and did not fit the description given. Such a shame as there were so many other nice places in Ella. No offer of compensation for water problems. We should have just cut our losses and left.
    Wifi worked well.
    Georgie
    au

    Review score

    9.5
    12 September 2018

    Great accomodation with wonderful staff.

    We had a wonderful stay at Eco Green cottages. Amazing location-incredible feeling being in amongst the trees with wildlife all around. Very comfy family room for us and the kids. But the best part was that we left something very valuable at the cottages and were a few hours drive away. They were fabulous at helping arrange transport for us to safely get our belongings back, which we did within 24 hours - safe and sound. So this is a very trustworthy and reliable place to stay. Highly recommend!!!
    manjula vithanage
    lk

    Review score

    8.8
    31 August 2018

    very satisfied stay by whole family

    Feel that breakfast varieties to be improved.
    Lovely place , quite environment, clean rooms , good bathroom,
    Lisa
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    22 August 2018
    The view from the balcony (and also from the bed which was the same) was amazing, lots of monkeys and mongoos :), bathroom was nice and clean and the guy who is looking after the facilities was really helpful and made us a delicious breakfast. So far our most relaxing stay in sri lanka!
    Simms2018
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    20 August 2018

    Amazing location. Very noisy jungle!

    We had the family cottage that slept up to 6. In reality it was better for 4 ( two big doubles ) the extra mattress on the floor was more like a single and there was no mosquito net ( and there were plenty of them !) But it did make the stay great value. I found it easy to contact the ‘ caretaker’ by e mailing him . He responded really quickly.
    Staying up in the trees. The sounds and wildlife.
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    18 August 2018
    Nothing
    Ella is a busy city where at night around the main roads most restaurants play loud music. The cottage is bit further away from the city centre, so its nice and quiet. The owners serve a delicious breakfast at the agreed time (which did not happen at all our other stays) and are very nice to the many monkeys around the sleeping bungalows. The bungalows also have a nice balcony to relax and enjoy breakfast.
    Alain
    ch

    Review score

    7.9
    14 August 2018
    No reception, difficult to find people.
    Surrounded by forest with monkeys, wild boar, giant squirrel and deers Very peaceful, nice terrasse.
    Jacco
    nl

    Review score

    5.8
    26 July 2018

    Beautiful spot but pretty primitive place

    Place is very primitive; No fan available; Bedsheets and towels all didn’t smell fresh; Place is very humid; Bathroom not clean and all, moldy also; We had a double and a single bed for the four of us; single bed was in very lousy shape
    Very friendly person who works there (not the owner); Each room has a lot of privacy, no direct neighbors; Walking distance from main road; Quiet, apart from animal noises (which are fun)
    Free spirited ..
    bh

    Review score

    8.8
    23 July 2018

    Fresh breeze from the heart of jungle!

    Bed sheets need to be improved.. Kettles mugs and glasses need to be replaced with better quality.
    The view of the natural jungle, environment friendly yet simple basic cottages, delicious breakfast served in the terrace, friendly and very active staff, great location in the heart of the city.
    James
    au

    Review score

    10
    22 July 2018

    Highly recommend this place and will be back again.

    Nothing bad to say about this place.
    Loved how it was away from the busy streets and in the middle of nature. Listening to the birds and monkeys was awesome. So peaceful and quiet. Very good place to chill and kick back.
    Pia
    au

    Review score

    6.2
    21 July 2018
    The mattress was pretty average and we had to ask for a sheet. The towels were thin and worn. The Wi-Fi speed was so slow it wasn’t workable. Not really sure why it’s called eco green... access to the establishment is via a steep and winding road.
    The young guy looked after us well. The breakfast was plentiful and nice. The place was quiet.
    Sandaru Perera
    ae

    Review score

    10
    16 July 2018

    Silent and relaxing place

    We stayed one night at this property, it was an amazing experince for us and it was easy to go ella city and railway station , and for sightseeing, property located in amazing place very silent and you can see some monkeys over there.👍 breakfast so nice rooms and bathroom was clean,
    Caroline
    se

    Review score

    7.5
    12 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Wasu Abeyrathna
    lk

    Review score

    9.2
    1 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Anne-Marie
    au

    Review score

    10
    30 June 2018

    It was like staying in paradise.

    It's not the cottages, but there's a lot of accommodation being built in Ella and I can see that it will become more touristy, so visit soon.
    I booked for one night and stayed for three. I knew I wanted to stay longer the moment I arrived. Seriously considered giving Kandy a miss because it's so nice here. I was in two cottages. The bigger one was gorgeous with a view of Ella rock and a toilet with a view! The smaller one was also great, just smaller. Beds comfy, mosquito nets and fans. It doesn't need air con. The winning thing of the cottages is big private balconies that look into the tree tops. I sat there for hours. You'll see monkeys, squirrels and the train going past. It's perfect. Breakfast is excellent and, if you leave bananas and turn your back, they will be stolen by monkeys; they are quiet and quick. The staff are also lovely. I got a pot of good tea every afternoon. It was like paradise. Perfect for a break if you've been touristing hard. So quiet and relaxed. For the price, there's nothing to complain about. I'd come back any day. It's an easy walk to the village and a steep climb back. Get a tuk tuk for 200 rupees and ask to be shown the shortcut to the station. I didn't find it until my last day. Ella is small and easy to walk around. Good food, massages and tea shops. I was extraordinarily lucky to be here for a Buddhist festival with an incredible parade through the streets. Buses head down to the coast from here. Or you can bus south to north. (Local buses seem intimidating, but it's really easy and you'll meet locals. If you're unsure, ask the conductor on every bus.)
    Barbara
    ca

    Review score

    10
    1 September 2018

    Amazing!!

    The location of the cottage is amazing as it is set right in the woods. The cottage was beautifully decorated and quite cozy. The staff was very helpful. A peaceful and relaxing retreat.
    Thulanidu
    lk

    Review score

    8.3
    27 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nisham1
    lk

    Review score

    10
    19 August 2018

    Great place to relax

    Great place to relax.The Staff is very kind and helpful. So far the greatest service experience in Ella. The breakfast was delicious. Worth for the money you pay.!!
    Irish Traveller
    ie

    Review score

    9.6
    1 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews